Arrival

This morning around 11 BST, we arrived at Oxford. The flight was fine; unfortunately I didn’t get as much reading done as I would have liked. I just wanted to relax and watch movies to put myself to sleep. Speaking of, I think I got maybe 20 minutes total. So I think it’s safe to say that I’ve been up for 24 hours. I sat next to a window which was really nice to lean my head against–but unsettling with its noise or when we hit frequent turbulence. Overall however, the food was good and all of the people were nice as well.

The ride into downtown Oxford was absolutely stunning. Naturally, I put all of my Mumford & Sons albums on and just took in all the scenery. All of the houses here are so unique and have a variety of architecture. Plus each home has vibrant landscaping. Even the design of my dorm room is something I’ve never seen before. Honestly it’s more like a small apartment.

I have a twin bed in a small room no wider than 7ft. But what I lack there, I make up for in a private living room. I have my own desk, mini-fridge, bench, and plenty of shelving. I also have a sink in my room, but all of the toilets are a floor below. You have to climb 4 flights of old wooden stairs before you even get to my apartment! Each room additionally has large windows that swing out towards the stone courtyard below. They come in handy because as far as I can tell, the breeze outside is our only source of AC. But hey, for a college built in 1555–it’s pretty great.

This is quite a lot to take in all at once. But luckily I have downtime to reflect and write a quick blog. All of the students were given free time until 5PM; that’s when we’ll have our first orientation and then dinner. I’ve unpacked everything thus far and hung up photos of friends and family. I’ll need a few things in town that I plan to get tomorrow. I’ve basically been killing time until the community shower is open because we also share that downstairs too.

During this time I’ve tried to contact everyone at home, but the five hour time difference is a bit difficult. I just need to keep myself busy so I don’t fall asleep. I really want to lose the jet lag and start getting used to the timezone!

The environment here is really stimulating for creativity. I’m surrounded by nature and beautiful architecture. I’m typing in my bed now with the large window swung open while I can hear the ambient sounds from the city and gardens alike. I understand why famous authors like Tolkien and Wilde wrote here. It makes me believe all the claims about how trips abroad encourage/trigger personal growth.

All in all, so far so good. Class officially starts on Tuesday. Tomorrow is filled with guided tours of campus and the library. For now I’ll spend time showering and taking pictures of campus on my SLR to share in my next post.  Until then here a few below that I shot briefly on my way in today:

 

Hoping to hear from everyone soon.

2 thoughts on “Arrival

Leave a comment